Skip to content

Christopher Nolan to Begin Work on Next Film

by on March 10, 2013

By Taylor Gaines

Saturday night, as I began to shut down my computer for the night, something popped up on my Facebook timeline that changed everything. Scrolling along, I saw the headline, “Christopher Nolan’s Next Film Gets a Release Date.”

My jaw dropped, I started crying, I hugged my brother, I called my friends. There were no words to describe my excitement.

Ever since “The Dark Knight Rises” (2012) came out, I had been desperately awaiting word on what Nolan’s next project would be. The announcement of Nolan’s involvement in the potential Justice League movie hadn’t gotten me quite as excited as others because I wanted to see an original work, directed by Nolan himself.

Now, my wish has come true. As of March 8, according to Entertainment Weekly, Paramount Pictures and Warner Bros. have announced that Nolan’s next film, “Interstellar,” is set to be released in theaters and IMAX November 7, 2014.

Paramount plans to distribute the movie domestically while Warner Bros. handles international relations. Syncopy, the WB-based company run by Nolan and his wife, Emma Thomas, will also produce the film.

Plot details are scarce, as the movie is still 606 days away from being released, but word is that the script is being developed from a work of Nolan’s brother, Jonathan, who helped write both “Memento” (2000) and “The Prestige” (2006) as well as other Nolan films.

The only information released is that the movie will be sci-fi, and it will be a time travel epic developed from the scientific theories of American physicist Kip Thorne, who is scheduled to executive produce the movie. The press release said the film is “a heroic interstellar voyage to the furthest reaches of our scientific understanding.”

I have no idea who is in the movie (hopefully there will be some combination of Michael Caine, Christian Bale and/or Leonardo DiCaprio). I don’t know much more than that it will be about time travel. However, I do know that I have seen every Nolan film to date, and none have disappointed me.

I can guarantee that in over a year and a half, when “Interstellar” comes out, I will be in the theater at midnight, watching the next brilliant work of art that Nolan gives to the world.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

