Skip to content

Oscar Banter: Best Picture

by on February 24, 2013

By Taylor Gaines and Steven Halsey

This is it, the big kahuna. What was the best film of 2012? Nine worthy nominees duke it out to be crowned champion. Here are the nominees for Best Motion Picture of the Year.

THE NOMINEES:

Zero Dark Thirty (2012): Mark BoalKathryn BigelowMegan Ellison

TAYLOR GAINES:

Ah, the moment I have been waiting for. For the first time in my life, I have actually seen all the nominees for Best Picture. So, I can make a pretty educated decision on which I think is the best. RIGHT??!!

In all seriousness, though, I have seen them all. So, let me eliminate a couple that don’t really have a shot in the world at winning.

“Amour,” despite being my personal favorite, has no chance because it is a foreign film.

“Beasts of the Southern Wild,” as I have touched upon before, won’t win because it is Benh Zeitlin’s first ever full-length feature film. And it wasn’t that good.

“Django” won’t win because there was no real emotion involved in the movie (classic Tarantino, right?).

“Life of Pi” is a token nomination for its brilliant visuals and “Les Miserables” is a reach for Best Picture (although it was surprisingly good).

Out of the other four, “Zero Dark Thirty” and “Silver Linings Playbook” are probably the longest shots to pull of a victory. Although “ZDT” might be the best film of the year, the controversy around its use of torture has overshadowed the film itself.

“Silver Linings” was just a bit too much on the cheesy, storybook ending side to come away with a win.

It truly is a race between “Argo” and “Lincoln.”

When Ben Affleck wasn’t nominated for Best Director, it seemed like a death-blow to “Argo’s” Oscar chances. However, its late run at the lead-up awards shows has many pinning it as a favorite.

However, “Lincoln” has quietly stood by, patiently waiting its turn. And, in the debate between “Lincoln” and “Argo,” “Lincoln” is my winner.

Despite my immense enjoyment of “Argo” upon first viewing, I have slowly shifted to the “Lincoln” camp in reveling in Daniel Day-Lewis’ brilliant performance.

Heck, it wasn’t even a performance. Abraham Lincoln literally came back to life, instilled himself inside Daniel Day-Lewis’ body and became Daniel Day-Lewis for the length of the shoot.

Something in my heart tells me a movie with great acting and a brilliant script and Steven Spielberg directing it deserves to have an advantage over a movie with adequate directing, decent-enough acting and a great story.

I wouldn’t be that upset if “Argo” won but I truly believe that “Lincoln” should be the winner.

“I am the President of the United States of America, clothed in immense power! You will procure me those votes!”

He said so. Give him the votes. He’s got mine.

STEVEN HALSEY:

I’m gonna jump right into it.

“Amour” and “Beasts of the Southern Wild” are out of the question. “Amour” is foreign and Zeitlin is new to this game.

The more Tarantino movies I see, the more I realize he’s more of a one-hit wonder. “Django Unchained,” like “Inglorious Basterds” (2009) and all the “Kill Bill” movies, will fade away with time and live in the shadows of “Pulp Fiction” (1994), Tarantino’s true Best Picture masterpiece.

If “Les Miserables” wins Best Picture, I will never watch the Oscars again.

Well, I might. But probably not.

Unfortunately, the inevitably liberal nature of Hollywood adds constant political pressure and excessive criticism to movies like “Zero Dark Thirty,” which will prevent it from victory.

The top half of the group is definitely “Life of Pi,” Silver Linings Playbook,” “Argo” and “Lincoln.”

“Life of Pi” was incredible. However, I know that very few people are telling their friends that the best movie they saw this year was about an Indian man stranded on a boat with a tiger.

“Silver Linings Playbook” was the best movie I’ve seen this year, but my favorites usually never win Best Picture, with the exception of “Silence of the Lambs” (1991) and “Titanic” (1997).

So, like my friend Gaines, I arrive at the crossroads of “Argo” and “Lincoln.”

Best Director and Best Picture often go hand in hand, and I believe Steven Spielberg let himself down on this one. This certainly wasn’t his best film, and Lincoln’s success is made primarily through brilliant acting.

Exceptional as it was, sometimes movies just aren’t good enough.

So almost by process of elimination, “Argo” will win Best Picture.

From → Oscars

One Comment
  1. Ken Gaines permalink

    Looks like Steven got this one right… ;^)

Leave a Reply

