Skip to content

Oscar Banter: Best Actress

by on February 24, 2013

By Taylor Gaines and Steven Halsey

We are down to the heavy-hitting categories now with just Best Picture, Best Actor and Best Actress remaining. We will start with the latter, in a category that is loaded with talent from the age of nine (Wallis) to 85 (Riva). This will be an interesting category come Sunday night. Here are the nominees for Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role.

THE NOMINEES:

Naomi Watts: The Impossible (2012)

TAYLOR GAINES:

It feels like this category is a toss-up between Chastain and Lawrence. I could see Riva as a long-shot coming away with the victory for a lifetime achievement award, but for the most part I feel it is a two-horse race.

The Academy is not going to give the award to a nine-year-old and everyone knew what they were going to get out of Watts in “The Impossible”. She feels like a token nomination.

Lawrence was brilliant in “Silver Linings Playbook,” and she may be the one current actress I would watch in any movie she made (By the way, I am very excited about this).

While I would not be upset if she won the award, I give my vote to Chastain because SHE FREAKING KILLED BIN LADEN!

Seriously, though, Chastain’s performance was as gritty and real as it gets. She owned her role and had me believing she could have actually killed Bin Laden.

If she doesn’t win, the veins in her forehead at least deserve to win an award for their performance in “Zero Dark Thirty.” If that doesn’t happen, I’ll be rather upset.

STEVEN HALSEY:

I agree with my friend Gaines when he says that the race is essentially between Chastain and Lawrence. My personal bias again gets the best of me, though, and I must say that I think Jennifer Lawrence of “Silver Linings Playbook” deserves the Oscar.

Lawrence is a talented woman. She’s hot (editor’s note: BEAUTIFUL). She’s only 22.

She got her first Best Actress Nomination in 2011, when she was just 20, narrowly losing to Natalie Portman in “Black Swan” (2010).

Lawrence did what all of the best actors and actresses do. She went outside her role.

I felt every emotion in her towards Pat (Bradley Cooper) in “Silver Linings Playbook.” It’s never easy to subtly convey feelings towards a character in a way that is oblivious to the character but clear to the audience.

But I could tell early on in the movie how she felt about Pat, and that’s what makes her acting job so real. That’s what made the love story so astonishing.

I imagine that much of her script was ad-libbed. Lawrence was brilliant the entire time, and she made everyone around her come alive. That’s a lot more challenging than it is to come off as a hard-ass who kills terrorists.

Lawrence has earned Best Supporting Actress.

From → Oscars

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

