Skip to content

Oscar Banter: Best Actor

by on February 24, 2013

By Taylor Gaines and Steven Halsey

Which male dominated the big screen last year? Five incredible actors are nominated for this category and it will be interesting to see who comes out on top (although it appears the man in the top hat has it locked up). Here are the nominees for Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role.

THE NOMINEES:

Denzel Washington: Flight (2012)

STEVEN HALSEY:

I never saw “Flight,” but I could tell from the trailer the movie would be a hit or miss. Most people agreed that although the movie plot might have been a miss, Denzel’s role was a hit. But average movies never yield the Best Actor.

The least likely actor to win in this category is probably Joaquin Phoenix. He shouldn’t have bad-mouthed the Academy.

Overall, Hugh Jackman did a good job with “Les Miserables.” He did what was asked of him. What will keep him from the Oscar, in my opinion, was his voice. I might have picked someone with more rich vocal chords than Hugh Jackman for a musical.

And I know I’m not alone when I say I got tired of Jackman obnoxiously singing every line he had despite how small or petty it was. The word “yes” or “no” doesn’t need to be so boisterous and unsettling. In many cases it delayed the plot and bored audiences (or at least me).

Sometimes you have to choose what is probable over what you prefer. “Silver Linings Playbook” is my type of movie, and Bradley Cooper is my type of actor. Little can be said about Cooper’s performance except it was flawless. If it was up to me, I’d give the kid the award.

However, it is not up to me. Daniel Day-Lewis also did a phenomenal job, and just as “Silver Linings Playbook” is my type of film, “Lincoln” is Hollywood’s.

Lewis had all of the fundamentals. He did not act as Lincoln.

He was Lincoln, in appearance, voice, dress, mannerisms, style, and habit.

By definition, Lewis is the ideal candidate. Lewis will win the Oscar.

TAYLOR GAINES:

Lewis will win. No doubt.

But for argument’s sake, let me put a thought in your head.

When you’re talking about the Most Valuable Player in baseball, the best players on the worst team often don’t have a shot at the award.

Why not?

Just because their team is bad, it doesn’t mean they shouldn’t have a chance to win the award. In fact, their accomplishments may be even more impressive considering they’re performing at an MVP-level despite having lesser talent around them in the lineup.

Not only that, imagine how horrid their team would be without them!

This is how I feel about Denzel Washington in “Flight.”

Just because the movie may have not been that good doesn’t mean he should be punished for it. He owns every role and every movie he is a part of and his portrayal of a psychologically embattled alcoholic is one of his best performances to date.

I think it’s time Denzel joins the elite class of actor who has won three separate Oscars.

Although Day-Lewis will win the Oscar, Washington should win the Oscar.

From → Oscars

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

