Skip to content

Where Dreams are Brought to Life

by on February 13, 2013

By Taylor Gaines

You create the world of the dream. We bring the subject into that dream and fill it with their subconscious.

 –Dom Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio), “Inception”

Those 20 words from director Christopher Nolan’s masterpiece describe movies better than I ever could.

The director creates the world of the dream with sets, actors, storyline and camera work. The dream becomes visible and tangible.

Then the subject (the viewer) is brought into the dream, where his or her own personal experiences and predispositions affect how he or she views this newfound world.

The subject escapes from the real world, travels along a journey with the characters of the dream and wakes up to reality after about two hours.

It usually takes a little while for the dream to wear off. And you remember the good ones.

You don’t just watch movies, you experience them.

I never understood how great it was to experience movies until Nolan’s “Inception.” Before that, I just watched movies like any old chump.

Sure, I knew when I had seen good ones, but I didn’t understand how different the experience became when I invested myself in the movie and allowed my “subconscious” to fill the screen.

Movies changed for me after “Inception.” Following a fruitful quest through the world of Christopher Nolan, I began to expand my movie knowledge to the point that my IMDb Watchlist now includes 129 movies (although I am sure there are many I have still missed).

I have stumbled across some legendary movies including “Silence of the Lambs”, “The Shawshank Redemption” and “One Flew over a Cuckoo’s Nest.”

I have even ventured into the worlds of Quentin Tarantino (“Django Unchained”) and Paul Thomas Anderson (“There Will Be Blood”) for the first time in my life.

I have made it my goal to watch all nine movies nominated for Best Picture at the 85th Academy Awards (“Les Miserables” is the only one I have yet to see) and I am compiling a list of movies I hope to see that includes “Fight Club”, “Good Will Hunting”, “Psycho” and “Rain Man.”

I have started this blog in the hopes of being able to discuss movies with other people who love movies and to see where the future in movies takes us.

In the early days of Citizen Gaines, I will go on a journey through the world of Christopher Nolan, my inspiration in movies, and discuss various ways he has changed the movie industry.

My good friend Steven Halsey will also participate in providing content for the site, as we will engage in plenty of healthy banter involving the run-up to the Oscars.

I am looking forward to seeing where the site will go and even more so where the year in movies will take us. I hope you will come along for the ride.

Always feel free to engage us in debate or just movie talk! Click the “About” section at the bottom of the page for both Steven and my email addresses and Twitter handles.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

